The French Connection .....

East and West

Moderator: Global Moderators

dmacdiarmid

The French Connection .....

Post by dmacdiarmid » Thu Jul 06, 2006 10:09 pm

:D I am very new to internet geneology and this is my first posting.With GREAT help from lbathgate at college WE have found a "French connection" in my family.This has opened a very close link i was unaware of.WHERE DO I GO FROM HERE?The names i am looking for in France are :- DUPUIOS. DUPRE. CHOLET. And REYMOND. Any information would be very much appreciated.
David

LesleyB

Post by LesleyB » Thu Jul 06, 2006 10:52 pm

Hi David
Great to see you made it to Talking Scot! Welcome aboard :D
Hope someone can help you with your French query. You might need to give a few dates or indication of names & ages so that folk know what time period to look in and who they are looking for.

Meanwhile this may be of some interest;
http://genealogy.about.com/library/weekly/aa070700a.htm

This is a web site a Goalen contact sent me recently - we're always trying to prove that Huguenot link which came down in family stories ...but not quite getting there! Anyway interesting to see the Dupre concentrations:
http://www.geopatronyme.com/cgi-bin/car ... ?nom=dupre

Best wishes
Lesley
Researching:
Midlothian & Fife - Goalen, Lawrie, Ewart, Nimmo, Jamieson, Dick, Ballingall.
Dunbartonshire- Mcnicol, Davy, Guy, McCunn, McKenzie.
Ayrshire- Lyon, Parker, Mitchell, Fraser.
Easter Ross- McCulloch, Smith, Ross, Duff, Rose.

LesleyB

Post by LesleyB » Thu Jul 06, 2006 11:42 pm

There are some French records on the IGI too ( www.familysearch.org , then Search tab, then IGI ) - choose Continental Europe, then France, but I'm not having much success with some of your name combinations.

Best wishes
Lesley

CatrionaL

Post by CatrionaL » Fri Jul 07, 2006 12:33 pm

Hi David

Have you any idea at all where in France your family originated? Each town hall has it's own archives.

Best wishes
Catriona

dmacdiarmid

FRENCH CONNECTION