Gordon Highlanders.....

All matters military, militia, regiments and the like. Army, Navy, Air Force etc.

Moderators: Global Moderators, Pandabean

Caroline

Gordon Highlanders.....

Post by Caroline » Tue Nov 22, 2005 1:59 pm

I'm trying to find my grandads war records, but I'm afraid I'm a bit of a novice in this field and I was looking for some advice.

My grandad, George Ross, was in WW1 and was a private in the 53rd Gordon Highlanders (66 W. Lines). I got this info from the back of a photo of him in his uniform.

I've tried the Nationaal Archives site but there are too many soldiers with the same name in the Gordons and I don't know which one is him as I don't have his regiment number.

Is there anyway I can get more info?

Caroline
Last edited by Caroline on Thu Nov 24, 2005 8:31 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Hood, Nicholson, Strang, Taylor, Wallace - GLASGOW
Ritchie, Robertson, Smith, Summers - FIFE
Henderson, Montgomery, Rutherford - HAUGH OF URR
Hart, McAdam, Young - DUNBARTONSHIRE
Caldwell, Roberts - RENFREWSHIRE

Ted

Post by Ted » Tue Nov 22, 2005 3:41 pm

Hi Caroline

Firstly - did your Grandad survive WW1 - if not you can search on Commonwealth War Graves Commission site. If he did survive you might be able to get a medal index card for him at National Archives - given that you know his service unit - from this you might be lucky to get his service number - which in turn may get you his service record from Kew. However do remember that a large proportion of WW1 records were destroyed in WW2. If you post on the Great War Forum site you may get expert help there.

Hope this helps

Ted
Looking for Allan / Gordon / Troup / McInnes / Grant / Taylor / Jackson from Aberdeen (city & shire) & Banffshire
Alexander / Allan / Stewart in W Lothian
Allan / Burnett in USA and Canada / Davidson & Philp in Fife and Lanarkshire

Caroline

Post by Caroline » Tue Nov 22, 2005 4:51 pm