The Christian Watt Papers

History and Culture, A place to post a book title.

Moderator: Global Moderators

david macdiarmid

The Christian Watt Papers

Post by david macdiarmid » Mon Feb 21, 2011 1:12 am

[book] I Do not think that our TS book forum is set up yet,which is a great shame,as i for one think it's a great idea.This could be an invaluable asset for the TS membership worldwide,who don't have the means of local research etc.Anyway,i digress.I am just about to do something that i have never done before,that being,read a particular book for the third time,granted this is over a thirty year period,but for me a first. The book in question is The Christian Watt Papers,for anybody either from, or researching the north east of Scotland,particularly the County of Buchan,the village of Broadsea and The Broch,Fraserburgh.Christian Watt,describes the social history of the area and beyond, perfectly.She was born in 1833 into an ancient family of fisherfolk,and of extremely proud tradition,her life was full of adventure,and laughter but it was also filled with grief and sadness losing so many of her family,including her own Favourite Son to the sea.Christian's story takes you right back to the time as she lived it and unbelievably,her papers were written in an institution in Cornhill in Aberdeen where she lived for almost 50 years.Christian died in 1923.There is an introduction to the book by General Sir David Fraser,where he explains how the papers were put together etc.I urge any one interested in researching this area to seek out this wonderful book.Your views are all most welcome.Once the book forum is up and running a i have reread The Christian Watt Paper's again,i will make a proper comment,.David :-
Banks,Bennet-Clark,Bird,Cholat,Clark,Clay,Dupre,Dupuis,Fraser,Grant,Gunn,Hooper
Kelly,Leburn,Livingston,MacDonald,Paris,Reymond,Russell,Sommerville,Sutherland & Watson.All Scottish searches,apart from the four obvious French names.Merci Beaucoup !!!

SarahND